MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
rover_75
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think my current battery is dying or dead? I will see if I can call out the breakdown guys to advise, as the car's not starting.
I've trickle charged the battery twice in 4 days and neither charging has helped me in starting the car.
I don't use my car a lot and that's probably why the battery has died? or is it the alternator? I'm no mechanic !
If my current battery which is a Bosch has in fact died I definitely think I need a heavy duty battery, especially because the car is driven very occasionally.
Please advise what kind of battery I might require, given it's rare usage?
Thanks in advance.
Martin.

·
Registered
rover_75
26 Posts
I think my current battery is dying or dead? I will see if I can call out the breakdown guys to advise, as the car's not starting.
I've trickle charged the battery twice in 4 days and neither charging has helped me in starting the car.
I don't use my car a lot and that's probably why the battery has died? or is it the alternator? I'm no mechanic !
If my current battery which is a Bosch has in fact died I definitely think I need a heavy duty battery, especially because the car is driven very occasionally.
Thanks in advance.
Martin.
Hi Martin
If you have a good motor store near you I would get them to cross check what battery you need I was surprised to find that my battery box on my rover 75 1.8 was quite large and the battery two thirds filled it when I rang about a replacement the company sold me a larger battery and said a lot of car makers fit a smaller battery to save on costs . If your alternator is failing the battery light with stay on on the dashboard it should go out on its own without reving it hard . The battery should last ok . You could have a small drain on your system that’s making the battery flat . You can test this if you have a multimeter
Hope this helps

·
Registered
rover_75
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #3